AARF Dogs to Adopt

Click here to help AARF using your Kroger Card,

Dog Stand Hours: 12 - 3 PM

Petsmart - 5515 W Broad Street

Adoption Fee: $250

Adoption Area: Richmond and touching counties

Pet Friendly Rental



Jett was found in a very rural part of North Carolina. He is a super sweet, black and white mutt. We believe him to be mixed with pit, lab, and/or boxer. He weighs 51 lbs. and is around 1-2 years old. We donít know much about his story, but he has a decent size burn scar on his back and know he is skittish, with a likely history of under-socialization and/or abuse. He has done great around cats, other dogs, and babies as well.

I am happy to do meet and greets for those interested, but there are a few things that folks should know if they would like to adopt Jett:

He is skittish. He has shown tremendous improvement (!) but he needs someone who will be gentle and have patience as he learns it is okay to trust humans. Loud noises and fast movements scare him, so he really needs time to know he can trust you.

Jett is a flight risk. If you have a backyard, you must have a 6 foot fence with no gaps or holes (otherwise, if he gets scared, he will run and try to escape).

He needs to wear a secure harness for any walks outside of fenced areas.

Jett does exceptional around the presence of another dog. He would be a great companion dog for both humans and dogs alike!

He is crate-trained and knows a few commands as well.

He doesnít bark much but will occasionally let out a short howl. Itís adorable.

He is not aggressive at all! He will snuggle with you on the couch or in bed, and he is really gentle and loving.

He loves to be outside but is just as content chewing on a bone inside on the floor. He is really easy going in the home, just nervous to meet new people. He is just waiting for someone to give him a chance!

For more information, contact Heather at hvia@apexsystems.com Subject : jett

  • 1-2 years
  • Dog, Kid, Cat Friendly
  • 6ft fenced yard



Osi is a 9-10 year old housetrained female dog located in Blacksburg, VA looking for a foster or forever home for the holidays! Donít let her age fool you, she is an active girl who loves playing with toys and being outdoors for walks, hikes and swimming.

Unfortunately, she was recently diagnosed with chronic kidney disease and is need of a place where she can live out the rest of her life comfortably and happily. She is currently stable on medication and diet changes (which the rescue covers), but sadly kidney disease is progressive. She is a very loving dog to her current fosters. She needs a foster who does not need to leave her for long periods of time (such as school breaks, extended vacations), due to her separation anxiety and attachment to her fosters. She is on anti-anxiety medications to help with this, but we would like to minimize any stressful events during the remainder of her time. She is protective of her fosters, so should be the only pet in the household and no children. We would like to find Osi a retirement foster home or adopter where she can spend the rest of her days peacefully.

If you are able to provide a senior foster home for Osi, please contact awfpfosters@gmail.com or contact wfpadoptions@gmail.com

  • Os
  • German Shepherd mix
  • 9-10 years old



Hi, I am Lexi and AARF is listing me to help to help me find a new home. . Here is my story.

Lexi is a fawnquin with cropped ears,6 years old.she loves going places ,loves car rides and attention. She's very lazy and loves her bed but always willing to jump in the car or go for a walk. She doesn't do well with female dogs or cats. She is freefeed and completely house-trained. She has never been crated. She loves to cuddle with you and will happily lay in your bed or on the couch for hours. Lexi is very well-behaved inside. She has had all her shots and is spayed and microchipped, very healthy.

The ideal home for Lexi would be someone who is home all the time or most of the time, someone who enjoys going for a walk and taking their dog in the car for rides.

She would be fine going to places like PetSmart as she loves attention but definitely no dog parks or similar places. She will need a family who understands she has never been in any other home. They will have to be patient as she adjusts.

It would be great if she could be adopted with Lola, preference goes to homes that will take them both.. Can send videos.

For more information, contact AARF at aarfva@hotmail.com Subject : lexi



Hi, I am Lola and AARF is listing me to help me find a new home. . Here is my story.

Lola is a 7 yr(March) harlequin great dane. She is very quiet and aloof with strangers. She is not the type of dog who would enjoy going to PetSmart and getting attention from other people.

She is in very good health,spayed,utd on shots,flea meds, microchipped and just had her annual heartworm test. She has minor arthritis but since giving Cosquin you would never know it She loves walks, car rides and snuggles on the couch. She has never been crated. She is completely house trained, and is used to being free fed as she is a grazer and doesn't eat a lot at one time.

She does not like cats! She is good with small dogs but unsure of how she would do with other females..she does not seem comfortable at all around children. The ideal home for her would be someone who is home all the time or most of the time, an older or retired person or couple would be great, someone who enjoys walks and taking their dogs in the car when they can, someone who doesn't mind her snuggling on the couch beside you while you watch TV, someone who will love her and understand that she will be nervous and scared. I am the only home she's ever had.

For more information, contact AARF at aarfva@hotmail.com Subject : lola

dog dog dog

Hi, my name is Sally (Adoption Pending).I am a 51 lb. ~6 year old german shepherd/hound mix. I am pretty independent and able to entertain myself, not the type to be fawning over you every second. I am happy meeting new people and very accepting of human guests in my home. I like them, I wag my tail, and welcome their attention. The neighborhood kids were at my fence and I went to meet them and they pet me.

I have lived with many different dogs, and currently am peacefully co-existing with an old, deaf cockapoo. I am looking for a home where I will have a canine companion. I am very quiet when my foster mom is home unless there is an unfamiliar sight or sound. The neighbor said I bark a lot during the day, so apartment living might not be the best lifestyle for me. But rest assured - I will let you know if some nefarious character is skulking around our home!

I know some commands and I am house-trained. I sleep in my own memory foam dog bed at night. But I am not a big fan of crates or being closed into a room Ė I might have had some complaints in the past about my behavior as far as being a bit too destructive of books, doors, and such when closed in by myself (oops). When Iím free-roaming around the house, I am much better! I also do very well in my current foster home where we have dark curtains at the window and a 6 foot privacy fence. That eases my anxiety about whatís happening in the outside world.

I like to go on walks and I get excited when a leash appears! I am a little nervous on new adventures, but I adjust quickly. For instance, I was afraid to go to the neighbor for visits, even with my foster mom. But now, the neighbor comes and gets me when my foster mom is at work. I wag my tail and am happy to hang out with them, a Shitzu, and a multitude of felines. I was nose-to-nose with a little Kitten! When adjusting to new situations, some medication helps me. But I may not need medication long-term. Weíre kind of in the ďletís try and see how it goesĒ phase. My foster mom says I am low maintenance, sweet, and easy to manage. Foster homes are okay. But I really would like my own family to love forever.

For more information, contact AARF at aarfva@hotmail.com Subject : Sally

  • Fenced Yard needed (5' or higher) (no electric fences)
  • Dog Friendly (Doggie Playmate Preferred)
  • Female
  • DOB: ~1/2012
  • Breed: ~Beagle/Shepherd Mix
  • Size: Medium/Large
dog dog

Hello potential family! My name is Lupin. I get my name because I am smart and serious, but I also have a wild playful side. I am a 4 year old mix breed who loves other dogs. (I don't seem to care about cats, but who knows)

I LOVE to play. I have a deep bark, and I let other dogs know it is playtime! I love a ball or tug o war. I get so excited sometimes I run high speed around the yard. It's great to be out of the shelter! I'm a loving guy who loves to follow you around and receive pets.

I am learning manners, and I take treats gently. I do ok on a leash, and I want nothing more than my own family to please and play with. So what do you think?

For more information, contact AARF at aarfva@hotmail.com Subject : Lupin

  • Dog Friendly
  • Fenced Yard Needed
  • ~Mixed Breed
  • Male
  • DOB: ~2013
  • Size: Large

Hi I am Andy. I am a active boy. I love to play and bark with my other foster buddies. We play chase in the back yard and have a ball. I need room to run. I can help dig holes if someone starts it for me.

I have a great appetite and love when it is feeding time. I am house trained but my foster home has a doggy door so it may take me a while to learn a house that does not have a doggy door. But I learn fast so I donít think I will have a problem learning a new home.

I am looking for my forever home. Are you the one for me??

For more information, contact AARF at aarfva@hotmail.com Subject : Andy

  • Fenced Yard Needed
  • Dog Friendly
  • Male
  • Large
  • Breed: Hound Mix
  • DOB: ~2012

image of arrow pointing upwards Back to Top

image of arrow pointing upwards Back to Top

dog dog

Hi, I'm Buster Brown. I am a beagle in every sense of the word. I love it outside where I can run and play and watch for the neighborhood squirrels that like to tease me by running up and down the fence. I am a beagle so I love to bark. I didnít hunt the way I was suppose to but I hunt the way I want. I am a funny boy, I like to lay on my back and just roll and roll or even get in the pool in the summer. Beagles arenít suppose to like water!! I play with the other fosters and we have fun dragging things out of our foster mom's house.

I am a shy boy. I am realizing that all people arenít mean to dogs and I can trust them to pet me, although you have to do it slowly and be patient with me.

Children really scare me, all that screaming and teasing the do. I am scared of men because they are the ones that mistreated me.

I have come a long way and will let my foster mom play with me some, but I still need time, understanding and love. I know with time I could be your forever dog and love you to death.

For more information, contact AARF at aarfva@hotmail.com Subject : BusterBrown

  • Fenced Yard needed
  • Dog Friendly - needs a doggie playmate.
  • Male
  • Breed: Beagle Mix
  • DOB: ~5/2011
  • Size: Small/Medium

image of arrow pointing upwards Back to Top